Category Archives: Skyclad

SKYCLAD: Support Shows Added

Skyclad will be main support for the first leg of Eniferum’s “Two Paths” tour:

26/09 DE – Bochum – Zeche – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart
27/09 DE – Langen – Stadthalle – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart
28/09 NL – Arnhem – Luxor Live – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart
29/09 DE – Berlin – SO36 – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart
30/09 DE – Osnabrück – Hyde Park – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart
01/10 FR – Paris – La Machine – with Ensiferum, Wolfheart

>> SKYCLAD Tourdates

SKYCLAD: New Album To Be Released In April

— Press Release by Listenable Records —



Newcastle Upon Tyne’s very own SKYCLAD announce the release of their upcoming and 13th studio album entitled ‘Forward Into The Past’ following their previous full length ‘In the… All together’ released in 2009. ‘Forward Into The Past’ also marks the return of guitarist Dave Pugh to SKYCLAD’s line-up as a permanent member.

Since their inception, SKYCLAD have created songs out of a highly original and influential sound mixing heavy metal and traditional folk. Their lyrics have been generally permeated by political, social and environmental matters and the new album seems to be no exception as vocalist Kevin Ridley comments: «The songs are about politics, the environment and the music business and so on. These are mixed with the standard Skyclad fayre of traditional bawdy/drinking type of songs and songs with blues and more ‘ethnic’ feels.»

‘Forward into the past’ painted artwork by Duncan Storr (who previously drew paintings for EDGE OF SANITY, RAGE and HAWKWIND album covers: displays the mesmerizing face of a man made out of trees and branches also as Kevin Ridley elaborates: «The ‘green man’ or ‘storyteller’ image used here is a traditional image (from Roman times at least in the UK) which is usually taken as ‘showing the close interdependence between man and nature.»

That natural feel is also largely expressed in the album production: «I think the new album sounds, warm, natural and ‘real’ (i.e. not processed or overproduced).»

SKYCLAD celebrates their grand return with ‘Forward Into The Past’ on April 28th on Listenable and it promises a selection of catchy and memorable songs!

The tracklisting is as follows:
1) A Storytellers’ Moon (intro) 01:28
2) State of the Union Now 03:28
3) Change is Coming 04:13
4) Starstruck ? 03:05
5) A Heavy Price to Pay 03:04
6) Words Fail Me 05:36
7) Forward into the Past 03:37
8) Unresolved (instrumental) 00:54
9) The Queen of the Moors 03:05
10) Last Summer’s Rain 05:33
11) The Measure 02:49
12) Borderline 04:35
13) A Storytellers’ Moon (Outro) 01:34

>> SKYCLAD Tourdates

SKYCLAD Sign With Listenable Records

— Press Release —

British Heavy Metal band Skyclad have just signed a record deal with French label Listenable records!

Band guitar player/songwriter Steve Ramsey comments: “We’re really looking forward to working with the whole Listenable team. They did a fantastic job for Satan in the past four years, becoming good friends and reliable partners. We’re excited to extend this partnership to the SKYCLAD family.”

In the past 25 years, SKYCLAD played hundreds of shows all across Europe and released 12 critically acclaimed LPs plus several EPs and compilation albums.

SKYCLAD’s yet unnamed first album on Listenable Records is scheduled for a release in Spring 2017. It will be the band’s 13th studio album and marks the return of guitarist Dave Pugh to SKYCLAD’s line-up as a permanent member.

Steve added: “The new album will contain loads of brand new songs as well as tunes based on demos we recorded around 2011/2012. Some ideas from the mid 1990ies that we recently re-discovered might make it to the LP, too!”
“Even though we played a couple of ‘old school shows’ recently, the new LP definitely won’t be a thrash album; but it will be no typical folk metal album either. We’ll use all the options we now have – with 3 Guitarists, additional vocals, fiddle, keyboards, bass and drums – to create an album that will be the same but different. 100% Skyclad!“